Why I’ve Randomly Decided to Try to Resurrect My Blog

You know how people say “Time flies….”?   That’s complete crap.  It doesn’t fly; it moves at light speed.  Or at least in my world, that’s how the past three years have gone.

I used to hang out here in the blogging world.  Jeanday Friday and I had this great deal going where we would post at least a blog a week.  Then, my perfectly planned path that I had carved out at age 18 and been following for the past 25 years said “Detour,”  as lives are apt to do, now that I think about it.

It’s a thing that, in retrospect, I totally blew out of proportion, but retrospect, unfortunately, is something I never has at the present to realize that I’m completely blowing something out of proportion.  (I’m not sure if anyone is with me on this one?  Anyone?)

It was a beautiful spring day and I was driving home after a baseball game.  My oldest son was a senior in high school at the time.  It was nearing graduation, and we were looking forward to Senior Day with the team, graduation, getting him ready to go to college – all the typical stuff that parents of teenagers think about.  Out of the blue it occurred to me that I hadn’t had a period since Spring Break…seven weeks ago.  But, I’m in my early 40’s and that pre-menopause stuff can hit around this time.  But I faintly remembered that three other times my period hadn’t come.  What happened those times?  Oh yeah – kids.

Inside my head it went something like this:  Huh.   I haven’t had a period in awhile.  That’s weird.  There’s no way I could be pregnant, I’m 43.  It’s like time for menopause to get going.  I think I’ve heard that sometimes you start skipping periods.  It’s probably that. Or I could be pregnant.   On the other hand, I’m stressed out.  It’s the end of the school year, Jay is graduating….  Yeah, that’s probably it.  Or, I could be pregnant.  No, I’m too told to be pregnant.  Plus, that doesn’t fit into my plan.  The Doc and I have just started being able to go on dates again spontaneously.  It’s like I’ve got some freedom back. 5 years, baby, and we are empty nesters.  So, no.  I can’t be pregnant because I’m almost free.  I’m sure it’s pre-menopause.  It has to be.

I drove right past my street, heading toward the drugstore, where I bought a pregnancy test.  It was time to just put this silly worry to rest.  When I take the test and it’s negative I don’t have to worry anymore.

By this point I’m thinking that you all have figured out what happens next.  Little Addie arrived in December of 2013 – best Christmas present I never knew I wanted and needed.  But she’s just one crack in that cement on the road of life.  If nothing else, I’ve collected a bunch of really great stories over the last two years that I’ve taken off from writing.

Why am I back now?  Have things settled down.  Ummm, that would be a resounding NO.  But, at the same time I realize that things aren’t ever going to really “slow down,” not until I’m dead probably, and time, in the words of the great Steve Miller, just keeps slippin’ slippin’ slippin’ into the future.  If I wait for time to slow to write, I’ll never write.  If having a baby in my 40’s with three teenagers has taught me anything, it’s taught me that it’s impossible to do everything, to be everything, and to make everyone (and sometimes anyone) happy.  It’s taught me that time is one of the most precious and endangered resources that I have and, therefore, I should choose carefully how I use it.  It’s time for me to bring back my Views from the Valley.  I hope someone reads and maybe even enjoys.

This entry was posted in Family, Life, Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I’ve Randomly Decided to Try to Resurrect My Blog

  1. Yay! You’re back!! All of your fans can hardly wait to see what you have up your sleeve to make us laugh, cry, and think about our lives rather than just going through the motions. 🙂

  2. Victoria says:

    Welcome back, Valley Girl! I’ve missed you!!

What are your views?

