Oh yeah, the blog…

It’s five days into the new school year, but it may as well be fifty.  At least, that’s what it feels like.  The bike-riding metaphor being overused and, frankly, much too pleasant to explain the going-back-to-school phenomenon for a teacher, I will instead go with “it’s like getting a root canal.”  You know what kind of pain you’re in for.

Maybe it’s not that bad.  After all, today some good came out of one of my lessons.  My students reminded me that I blog.  We were having this discussion about things people write in “real life” because, as everyone knows high school is not in any way, shape or form real life.  I mean, nobody in “real life” is mean, snarky, back-stabbing, or hopelessly critical and demanding.  But, I digress.  Which, as an English teacher who also gave a big lecture to ninth graders about unity, I should not do.  Oh well.

Back to my original story.  (How’s that for a smooth transition?)

The students listed things like complaint letters, emails, texts, notes to their parents and friends, and lo and behold this guy in the corner says, “blogs.  People write blogs.”  And it was like the angel’s harps from heaven rang out in a brilliant Hallelujah chorus.  The clouds parted and a single beam of light shone through the classroom window onto my face, and I remembered.  I have a blog.

I quickly gave the class a writing assignment in search of it, and here it is.  Safe and sound and no worse for the wear.  I’ve decided to dust it off and give it another go.  I’m not sure what this year’s blog will bring.  Certainly I’ve already had inspiration from both the Middle and High school cheerleading squads I’m not coaching, from the summer college campus visits we took our son on, and from Facebook updates from my favorite colleague, Farm Girl.  So as for material, I think I’ll be good.

Sadly, though, I’ve lost some inspiration.  Last year my BFF and teaching neighbor and I shared a common conference period where we inspired each other to write.  This year, the dynamic duo has be separated, so I’ll have to get my kick in the pants every day elsewhere. Hopefully, though, I will be able to at least mildly amuse the few of you kind enough to subscribe to and read my blog.

Here’s to seeing you (hopefully) soon!

This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Oh yeah, the blog…

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Hope your school year is starting off well. Nice to see you back. 🙂

  2. I’ve just secured my first full time post as a Carpentry lecturer, starting in two weeks. Is it really like root canal? Will I forget my blog? Great post 😉

  3. LWP Elle says:

    In a way, that first week does fit the bike metaphor. It’s like falling off your bike into wet sandy dirt and wondering why you ever got back on after the last fall… over and over for five days.

  4. Nice to see back at blogging. Hope this is your best school year ever!

  5. Jonesingafter40 says:

    Glad to see you back!

  6. I thought I noticed the angelic choir singing in your classroom yesterday! Halleluiah! We are back to inspire each other – one good thing about starting school again! 🙂

What are your views?

