Goin’ Back to Cali

Twenty some years ago I made an ill-decided visit to California to visit my ex-high-school-boyfriend. But that’s a different story.

Right now I’ve got a total of 10 minutes to kill here before my ride to the airport shows up. Lou, The Princess, and I are headed to Cal-i-for-ni-a to join the rest of the fam for a fun, old-fashioned family vacation. I feel a lot like old Clark Griswold today with my overly enthusiastic excitement for the trip. The Doc and Jay left Wednesday for Jay to start his big-boy baseball camp at Stanford.

Another college visit down and twenty pictures later I can’t imagine why the kid would want to go to school anywhere else. What a paradise! I can’t wait to see it in person…in about twenty-four hours. I’m looking forward to a little family time, which has been in such terribly short supply this summer with all the baseball craziness. I spend a lot of time with Jay…The Doc spends time with Lou…and The Princess spends time with my mother-in-law and niece because she hates going to baseball games. But, finally we are going to get to spend some time together.

The picture The Doc sent me was an all-too-real reminder of what is to come very shortly for us. In a year Jay will be packing up and going to college for real, and things will never be the same. It’s funny how when the kiddos are so little it seems like you spend all your time together as a family. All of it. Every waking moment. And, with little ones there are lots of waking moments.

Eventually, though, they get more independent. They sleep through the night. That part is awesome! They go to school and you get a little bit of free time. Next thing you know, they’re getting ready to leave for college? Hold the phone! I don’t know where the time went, but if nothing else is clear to me it’s that my days with my whole family are numbered.

And I plan to make the most of at least the next 8 of them.

20120629-231416.jpg

This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goin’ Back to Cali

  1. Have fun 🙂 I hope Jay does well!!

What are your views?

