The Christian Hall of Fame – Answers Revealed!

Apparantly “inquiring minds want to know” becaues I received several requests for me to follow up on my previous post regarding the Christian Hall of Fame.

In fact, some of you had some other interesting thoughts about what this attraction might include. Cakes and Shakes was kind enough to visit my site and reply with some of my favorites.  She thought, “Perhaps that’s where they keep famous Christians, locked in a cage and you can poke them with sticks. Maybe they have bearded lady Christians, and conjoined Christians…”

The visual images!  I needed a moment to use the restroom before I could reply.  I have had three kids and my bladder isn’t what it used to be.

Mom In Fort Collins, (jaymers) also pointed out that the Catholic Church already has their own “Hall of Fame” of sorts:  Saints.  To her I say, touche!  It was actually a thought that had crossed my mind that morning after I drove by but promptly forgot about when I was writing my post.  (Again, a sign of age?)

But, thanks to the sage wisdom of Jonesin’ After 40, I figured out how to do the research:  Google.  (How about that?  An English teacher who doesn’t think about using the internet for research?  What does that say about American Education?)

Surprisingly, the Christian Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio was right there in all its glory!  The first link took me to the site itself.  Right off the bat I could see that this “Hall” was an art gallery.  I felt a little bit duped.  Pictures were not what I had in mind by way of a “Hall of Fame.”  I was a little bit disappointed.

I then checked anther credible source, a favorite of my students, Yahoo! Answers.  I received a number of answers to my burning questions.

1.  The purpose of the hall is to “see oil paintings that were made to honor famous and not so Christians from the early church to the present hour.”  Ah-ha.  No 14 karat gold busts.  Oh well.

2.  The idea came from Dr. Harold Henninger, whose credientials remain unidentified.   (I usually tell students that makes the information a little shady, but as we’re talking Christian stuff here and there’s always the threat of eternal damnation I will let this one go.”  The story goes that he came up with the idea in 1964 while recovering from a heart attack AFTER he heard an announcement on the radio about the Professional Football Hall of Fame which opened only months earlier in September 1963.  (Wikipedia.  Do I know how to research, or what?)

3.  Henninger wanted to  display paintings to honor those who he calls “God’s Heroes” in his church.  I’m afraid of eternal damnation, so I’m not touching that one.  It’s pretty stand-up.

4.  Admission is free and open to the public.  No selling of the soul necessary.  Just walk on in and peruse at your leisure.

5.  Honorees do include some of the famous I surmised including John Calvin and Billy Graham, but also includes a number of individuals I had never heard of.  The most interesting one of these is Paul Bunyon who I mistakenly thought was famous as a lumberjack but apparantly wrote Pilgrim’s Progress.  (I’m beginning to think I have no business calling myself an English Teacher now.  I guess I’ve got some heavy summer reading to catch up on.)

So, there you have it.  All of your questions (or at least most of them) regarding the Christian Hall of Fame answered.  Now all of you have two great reasons to visit our great city.  Or three, if you decide to come and visit me!

 

 

This entry was posted in Humor, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Christian Hall of Fame – Answers Revealed!

  1. The Hook says:

    Very cool share! Thanks!

  2. crubin says:

    Interesting, but I think I’ll have a hard time selling this to my kids as a weekend outing. Or to myself. Of course, your fine city is our nearest Fazoli’s, and my children are obsessed with that place–why I don’t know–so they might approve a visit in exchange for a restaurant stop. 🙂

  3. Jonesingafter40 says:

    You crack me up! Glad you were able to find out through your research. I was a little afraid for you to visit in person…

  4. Harper Faulkner says:

    Ah, if you’re being funny I knew it all along! If not, it is John Bunyan and not Paul Bunyon. But, I’m sure you’re being funny. Right? Right? Please tell me you’re being funny! HF

    • valleygirl96 says:

      You got me…I was trying to be funny. I just wish I could’ve worked in a clever remark about the Bunyons’ other brothers George and Ringo and their awesome band.

  5. jaymers says:

    It’s nice to see a thoroughly researched post like this.

  6. I am rolling on the floor laughing! I am so impressed at your research! 😉

What are your views?

