The Christian Hall of Fame?

I was doing errands in the “city” this weekend when I drove past a mega church in the area.  Underneath the sign announcing their name and inviting visitors to stop by for a service (as churches often do), I noticed an unusual hook on another, smaller sign underneath the name.

“Home of the Christian Hall of Fame,” the sign read.

Now perhaps it’s important to know that we already live in a “Hall of Fame” city, Canton houses the Football Hall of Fame. Maybe that’s why I never realized before that we also boast the Christian Hall of Fame.  In fact, it never before occurred to me that there would even be a Christian Hall of Fame.  Who knew?  The sign brought up so many questions, I hardly knew where to begin. And I feel like it’s important for me to sort out some of the questions I have about this local attraction.

1.  Is it me or is the whole concept of a Christian hall of sort of ironic?  I imagine the founding father is a Pharassee.  Oh, no.  Of course not.  Pharasees were Jewish.

2. Who exactly is in this hall?  Is it like the founding fathers of Christianity?  Is Jesus in there?  I would think he would qualify.  The 12 disciples?  I’m guessing minus Judas.  But they replaced him, so did that guy get in?  Or is it more modern Christians?   What about John Calvin?  Martin Luther?  Billy Graham?  I’m very curious about this.

3.  How exactly does one get inducted? Is it by works? Because thats a little contradictory in my opinion.  Or, is it by popularity?

4.  And what about the eligibility? Is it like in baseball and football where you have to be out of the “sport” for so many years? Like you have to quit Chiristianity and then in seven years you qualify for consideration?

5.  And who votes on this?  The coaches, players, fans? Oh, whoops! The preaches, deacons, members?  Do they have a special meeting where they discuss all the candidates?  Are there statistics involved as in how many souls have you saved as evidence by number of baptisms?  Or is it the attendance at one of your events?

6.  Is this just a local hall of fame or is this like a national thing? Is this the only Christian hall of fame there is?  I mean there’s only one Basketball Hall of Fame, Football Hall of Fame.  I would think it would not be a true Hall of Fame if there were multiple halls across the country.

7.  And what does it look like on the inside?  Are there 14 karat gold busts of the members or just portriats?

8.  Do they charge admission? How much does it cost to get in?  Is it one of those deals where you  have to sell your soul?  Because that price is a little steep.

9.  What are the visiting hours? I mean, can you stop by anytime or do you have to attend and sit through a service the way Disney makes you sit through those educational videos before you can get on the rides at the countries in Epcot?

I think these are all fair questions.  I’ve been thinking about it all weekend, and the more I think the curiouser I get.   In fact, I just may have to stop on by to get the answers.  And if any of you out there have visited, please let me know.

This entry was posted in Humor, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Christian Hall of Fame?

  1. Jonesingafter40 says:

    Did you try google? This is so strange to me…

  2. crubin says:

    We’ll let you be the guinea pig. Let us know what you find. 🙂

  3. Love the comparison with the sports hall of fames. Who knew Canton was the mecca of all that is holy?!

  4. jaymers says:

    I think the catholic church has their own version of the Hall of Fame: Sainthood.

  5. Please go visit and report back: now I am curious too! Perhaps that’s where they keep famous Christians, locked in a cage and you can poke them with sticks. Maybe they have bearded lady Christians, and conjoined Christians…. ooh, I really want to visit 🙂

  6. Pingback: The Christian Hall of Fame – Answers Revealed! | Views from the Valley

  7. The Hook says:

    Good luck on your info quest!

  8. chrystalin says:

    I enjoyed reading that.

What are your views?

